.You can obtain a license from the state of Florida to carry a concealed firearm, subject to federal and state laws*. Our class
takes care of the first step in the process of applying for your concealed carry license. During our class, you will demonstrate that you can safely
operate and discharge a firearm to our qualified instructor, Dave. Dave is a U.S. Navy veteran and former volunteer Florida Hunter Safety instructor, who has taught hundreds of students ranging from first-timers to seasoned firearm handlers. He has successfully completed the NRA instructor training program and is currently certified by the NRA.
Questions and student participation are encouraged.
*Who is eligible to be licensed? The following qualifications are necessary:
- U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
- Clear criminal record
- Able to demonstrate competency with a firearm
- Current United States Resident
- 21 years of age or older (those under 21 may take the class and apply for their license upon reaching age 21)
Class topics are:
- How and why to get your concealed carry license
- Firearm safety
- Proper operation of a handgun
- Basic Florida concealed carry law (a discussion of Chapter 790, Florida Statutes)
What you need to bring:
Your driver’s license is all you need to bring.
All materials will be provided and are included in the class fee. After successful completion of the class, you will receive a certificate of safe operation which will enable you to apply for a concealed carry license with the state. We will provide you with an application packet and instructions on how to obtain your license.
See our class schedule for specific dates and registration information.
- Thursday 5:30 (Advance payment required)
- Friday 5:30 (Advance payment required)
- Saturday 9:30 (Walk-in; guarantee seat with optional pre-payment)
- Saturday 3:00 (Advance payment required)
Class time takes approximately 2.5 hours.
How much does it cost?
Class fee: $39 per person. There are NO additional fees for gun rentals, ammo, range fee etc. We will provide everything that you need at the price shown to enable you to show proof to the state of safe firearm operation when you apply for your Florida Concealed Carry Weapon license. Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive the necessary documents to apply by mail for your CCW and a certificate showing that you operated a firearm safely in front of the instructor. You can also choose to apply for your license at the Florida Department of Agriculture Regional Office. The State of Florida will charge you two additional fees for a total of $97 (currently $42 for fingerprint processing and $55 for licensing). Complete instructions to apply for your license will be provided in class.
If you choose to apply for your license in person at the Regional Office in Duval County, there is no need to pay a third party for a license photo, application notarization or a fingerprint card. The Regional office will take your photo and fingerprints and notarize your application. There is no discount in the state license/fingerprint processing fee for third party handling of these items.